Officers / Board Of Directors


Bill Martin, President, CaliforniaGeo          Based in:   Quincy, California    Affiliation:   MartinEnergetics

Bill Martin self-studied residential energy conservation and built his first heat pump-equipped home in the mid-70s.  By 1980, he had promoted energy conservation for two years in Plumas, Lassen, and Sierra counties on a grant from the California Energy Commission and four regional electric utilities.  He was certified by the California Energy Commission in 1981 to train energy auditors and began selling and installing solar thermal systems.  He developed related course offerings at Feather River College and trained contractors in Title-24 content, statewide.  Efficiency in residential energy design is his passion; ground source heat pumps are his favorite technology, and his current house was built based on both.  He is an IGSHPA-Certified Ground Source Heat Pump Installer.  Bill joined the CaliforniaGeo Board in 2013 and his current term will end on 12/31/24.


Mark Metzner, Vice President, CaliforniaGeo 

Based in:  Surrey, BC, Canada     Affiliation:  Green Storm GeoExchange Consulting / Aecon Group

Our only (current) director operating in Canada, Mark joined the CaliforniaGeo Board in 2022.  He is the Business Development Manager at the Aecon Group.  His leadership in the development and updating of  the ANSI/CSA/IGSHPA C448 Standard is something that will serve the geo industry better across all of North America and CaliforniaGeo has plans to anchor much of its future technical training around 448. Mark’s current term will end on 12/31/24.


Kent Penning, Secretary, CaliforniaGeo    Based in:  San Juan Bautista, California  

Affiliation:  Anzar Consulting & Design, LLC

Kent has served the HVACR industry since 1981, owning and operating a contracting business for 29+ years around water source heat pumps. He has fixed, designed, installed and project managed many residential and commercial geo projects, and for 15 years was an adjunct instructor in the HVACR program at San Jose City College.  Kent wants to serve the growth of our industry through utility and regulatory reforms.  His current term will end on 12/31/25.


Joe Parsons, Treasurer, CaliforniaGeo     Based in:  Oklahoma City, Oklahoma     Affiliation: ClimateMaster Inc.

Joe was previously the Senior Product Manager and will now serve as the Senior Marketing Sustainability Manager for ClimateMaster’s Climate Control Group, headquartered in Oklahoma City.  He’ll work toward leveraging the Inflation Reduction Act for the stimulation of our industry.  His 40-year career in this industry includes service as President and CEO of EarthLinked Technologies, as Director for the Geothermal Exchange Organization, and as a founding member of New York Geo.  He is a Director for IGSHPA and a veteran of service for AHRI and ASHRAE.  He is currently a voting member of the Canadian Standards Association.   Joe joined the CaliforniaGeo Board in 2014 and his current term will end on 12/31/24.


DIRECTORS  =======================================


Lisa Meline, Director, CaliforniaGeo  Based in:  Sacramento, California    Affiliation:  Meline Engineering Corporation

Lisa Meline is the principal engineer/owner of Meline Engineering Corp., providing consulting, construction support and technical training services. Current assignments include chairing three task forces for the ANSI/CSA/IGSHPA C448 revision:  surface water, wastewater energy transfer, and district geothermal systems.   She’s also on the technical advisory committee for the State of California DWR revision to Bulletin 74, and is a founding and returning board member who became CG’s first Lifetime Member in 2017.  Her current term will end on 12/31/25.


Chris Coley, Director, CaliforniaGeo Based in:  Preston, Washington    Affiliation:  Geotility

Chris Coley has been actively installing geothermal heating and cooling systems for over 13 years.  His experience is broad, ranging from field services, estimating, and project management, to handling these for both Geotility Corp and Orca Energy.  He is responsible for all staff in the Pacific Northwest region and leverages his management experience to maintain the highest quality levels for the companies he serves.  Geotility’s website features one of their premier projects, certain to advance our geo industry in California—The George Lucas Museum for the Arts in downtown Los Angeles.  His current term will end on 12/31/25.


Sandra Law, Director, CaliforniaGeo  Based in:  Solana Beach, California  Affiliation:  San Diego Gas and Electric

Sandra is a member of WRISE (Women in Renewable Industry & Sustainable Energy).  She is a professional engineer with wide geographic experience inside and outside the U.S.  Sandra’s field experience has included geo steam electric generation and micro-grids but she joins us as our first Director with major ties to an Investor-owned Utility. Her current term will end on 12/31/26


Kevin Smidt, Director, CaliforniaGeo  Based in:  Sanger, Texas  Affiliation:  LoopTech Geothermal

Kevin is the Director of Drilling Operations for LoopTech Geothermal Inc. and former Field Supervisor for Bertram Drilling Inc.  Kevin holds several drilling/operator licenses and certifications throughout the US and is an IGSHPA accredited installer. He has over 22 years of experience working with state/county, local municipalities, and co-ops in all aspects of drilling. This includes installing geothermal bore fields, from large scale industrial to small residential homes. His current term will end on 12/31/26.


Steve Weitzel, Director, CaliforniaGeo  Based in:  Prosperity, SC  Affiliation:

Steve is a veteran employee of two geo heat pump manufacturers, helped establish financial incentives through a South Carolina rural electrical cooperative and has experience with the establishment of a South Carolina income tax credit for those who completed residential geo installations. His current term will end on 12/31/26



[As per our Bylaws, CaliforniaGeo’s Board consists of nine (9) Directors]


PAST DIRECTORS  =======================================

Tim Wright, Ringgold, Georgia







Terry Proffer, Wheat Ridge, Colorado

Terry Proffer






Terry Shewchuk, Palo Alto, California








Todd Bradford, San Ramon, California     







Kevin Oxley, Etna, California








Cary Smith, South Jordan, Utah






Bruce Sanguinetti, Genoa, Nevada


Neil Anderson, Stockton, California

Sean Dillon, North Bend, Washington

Lisa Meline, Sacramento, California

Mark Stimson, Santa Barbara, California

Beth Morelli, Santa Rosa, California

Susan Nichol, San Jose, California

Dennis Murphy, Redwood City, California





Paul Bony, Paonia, Colorado

Phil Henry, Grass Valley, California

Ken Brew, Billings, Montana

Dan Bernstein, Pleasanton, California